Didier's Newsletter

Why I love boxing

Hi everyone,

Welcome to the very first edition of my newsletter! šŸŽ‰ 

I'm excited to have you here.

Now, this isnā€™t your typical newsletter with a set schedule. Nope! Youā€™ll get an email whenever Iā€™ve got something new to shareā€”like a fresh post, a cool open-source project, or honestly, when I feel like it.

Iā€™ll also be trying out a few experiments to keep things fun and interesting. And as always, Iā€™d love to hear what you think. šŸ™

Looking forward to the journey together!

Why I love boxing, even though I get punched in the face šŸ„Š

Exploring the parallels between boxing and startup life, and how both push me beyond my comfort zone to foster personal growth, resilience, and continuous learning.

Gleason's Gym

Gleasonā€™s Gym

Recently, I finished reading ā€œThe Art of Learningā€ - a really good book that Iā€™ve recommend to everyone (btw, here is a page of all the books Iā€™ve read in the past few years).

In it, the author Josh Waitzkin, reflects on his journey from chess champion to martial arts practitioner - and how anyone can master the art of learning.

The Art of Learning

The Art of Learning

It made me wonder, why at 29 years old I decided to step into a ring with boxers who have been fighting for 10+ years? šŸ„Š

As my friend Max says, ā€œYou donā€™t play boxingā€. So why am I doing it?

Similar to setting up a startup, this isnā€™t easy to explain. The most rational thing to do would be to go for a run outside or just go to the gym.

Yet, I hop in a ring to fight.

Why?

For starters, something is thrilling about stepping into the ring and knowing that you are going to get punched.

You need to get comfortable with something that - by definition - itā€™s uncomfortable.

Boxing is the physical to what startups are for the mind

Think about it. Most activities that people do in their spare time have a ā€œcontrolledā€ level of intensity. You get progressively more tired but ā€œknowā€ itā€™s coming - e.g. gym, swimming, tennis, running, etc.

Contact sports are in general like this too, although now and then you can get injured. Although this rate is small, sports in general equip athletes to be protected against injuries.

Boxing (and martial arts) donā€™t work this way. You step in the ring and within the first few seconds, you may get a hook that gives you a bruise next to your eye or a uppercut that makes you stop breathing for a few seconds.

My point is that with boxing, you donā€™t know when you are going to get hurt, but you learn to be comfortable with it and over time your body gets used to that level of pain - so it will take even more to make you uncomfortable.

Me sparring

Me sparring

First sparring session

I still remember my first sparring session, I got hit on the nose and had tears coming out of my eyes from it. My nose hurt for 3 days in a row. It doesnā€™t matter how many times the coach told me to keep my hands up, nothing taught me quicker than that cross on my nose.

For the remainder of the fight, I was mostly protecting myself and keeping my distance. I was ā€œhumbledā€ by the other fighter, and was pushed to outside my comfort zone.

This is not so much different from startup life where mentally you have to be in uncomfortable places - for me, this is the equivalent of speaking on a stage. For an introvert like myself, that was hard to overcome. Although I am still not comfortable on a stage, I am much more comfortable than I used to be.

AI Meetup

Mindstone New York AI Meetup

Next sparring sessions

Currently, when I step in a ring I have mixed feelings, Iā€™m somewhat anxious but also excited about it.

Itā€™s weird.

I mean, I know full well that Iā€™m going against folks whoā€™ve been in a ring since they were young - and I also know full well that Iā€™m going to get hit much more than I will hit.

However, something is exciting (poetic maybe?) about knowing that each time I step into the ring again, I will be able to land more punches, avoid more hits and be better mentally.

Learning is the nature of the game.

And the only failure is to not take any lessons from each fight.

This is the same for startups. I like what Bezos has to say on the topic, about pushing Amazon to embrace failure.

Sparring hit

This picture was what convinced me to buy my head gear

So, why do I love boxing?

I think ultimately, the reason why I love boxing is the same as why I love startups.

Startups push me every day to be the best that I can be in so many different areas, there isnā€™t a role that - for me - is as stimulating mentally as being a startup founder.

There are 100 different initiatives ongoing at all times, you have a team composed of human beings (by nature, highly complex with different backgrounds and life experiences), you have startups trying to disrupt your business, you have well-established incumbents, etcā€¦

Boxing is the same... but at the physical level.

I step in the ring and need to be the best I can in multiple verticals - it isnā€™t enough to be the best in one.

I need to have a faster reaction to avoid punches, be light on my feet to surprise an opponent, land the combos where I put most of my energy in, trade-off balance between combos and stamina, and all the mental side that comes from it too - which turns out is quite a lot.

Ultimately, as cheesy as it sounds, being a startup founder and doing boxing makes me feel alive.

Taking my father-in-law to a class

Taking my father-in-law to a class

If you enjoyed this and found it insightful, feel free to share this newsletter with friends, colleagues, or anyone else you think might find it interesting.

Thanks for being here! šŸ˜ƒ

Didier